Elliott Cup

The Elliott Cup is a bankruptcy themed regional moot court competition for law students from throughout the Fifth Circuit footprint (Texas, Louisiana, and Mississippi). The Elliott Cup has been sponsored by the State Bar of Texas Bankruptcy Law Section since 2005, honoring the late Joseph C. Elliott, United States Bankruptcy Judge for the Western District of Texas.  Judges and volunteer lawyers have used the Elliot Cup to prepare law students to compete in the Conrad Duberstein National Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition held annual in New York.

Law students from the Fifth Circuit have a history of success at "the Duberstein."  This success and the underlying experience gained by the participants is dependent on lawyers and judges who volunteer at Elliott Cup, which is usually held in mid-February. Participating lawyers are also invited to attend the Team Dinner at the end of the competition.

Plans are underway for the 2020 Elliott Cup, tentatively scheduled for February of 2020. To learn more about the Elliott Cup competition (including volunteer opportunities!), contact Jessica Lewis at jessica.lewis@judithwross.com.

2019 Team Results:

1st Place: Baylor School of Law

(Kevin Miller; Madeline Tansey; Taylor Fitzner)

 2nd Place: University of Mississippi  School of Law

(Andrew Cicero, Nathan Simpson; Jack Schultz)

 3rd Place: Baylor School of Law

(Christina Rosendahl; Hallie Hicks; Katherine Hancock)

 3rd Place: University of Texas School of Law

(Cameron Kelly; Lauren Hutton-Work; Madison Haueisen)


2019 Oral Advocacy Awards:

 1st Place: Andrew Cicero (UT); Christian Rosendahl (Baylor)

 2nd Place: Micheal Creme (SMU); Kevin Miller (Baylor); Laren Hutton-Work (UT)

 3rd Place:  Garrett Anderson (Ole Miss)

 4th Place:  Madeline Tansey (Baylor): Amber Stewart (Ole Miss)